Abrasive Wheels — Discography — HPS Music

Abrasive Wheels — Discography

Genre: Punk Rock
Country: England, Leeds

The band formed in 1976 and initially consisted of Phil «Shonna» Rzonca on vocals, Dave Ryan on guitar, Daves cousin Robert Welch on bass guitar, and Phils brother Adam Rzonca on drums. The name Abrasive Wheels was inspired by Rzonca’s engineering apprenticeship, where signs stating «Danger! Abrasive Wheels!» were regularly seen. They made their first public appearance at a friend’s party in 1977, which was followed by a Rock Against Racism gig at Leeds Polytechnic.

They were given a support slot opening for the UK Subs in Bradford, after which Adam and Rob left the band, they made contact with Leeds-born drummer Martin Taylor who began to play drums with the band and went on to record a demo tape at September Sound studios in Huddersfield. Martin left the band after several appearances on the Slaughter and the Dogs tour support to pursue his own musical projects. At this time they employed the services of a mutual friend on Bass, eventually both were replaced by Mark Holmes and Dave Hawkridge. With this line-up the band recorded their first demo, and toured with Slaughter & the Dogs. After losing money trying to get a record released by a London label Dave and Rzonca financed their own EP, releasing it on their Abrasive Records label. Hawkridge and Holmes then left, to be replaced by «Harry» Harrison on bass and «Nev» Nevison on drums, both previously of The Urban Zones, this is considered by Rzonca to be the band’s first «proper» line-up.

The EP was picked up by Red Rhino distribution and soon sold out of its 3000 pressing, reaching number 35 on the UK Indie Chart. The band then signed to Riot City Records and issued the Vicious Circle EP, which was followed by a re-release of their debut EP, both again indie hits. Their debut album, When the Punks Go Marching In, was released later in 1982. They then signed to Clay Records, and released a cover version of Elvis Presley’s «Jailhouse Rock». Their second album,> Black Leather Girl was released in March 1984, displaying a much slicker and glossier sound with vocal harmonies, but after a further single, the band split later that year after a lengthy international tour.

Rzonca worked as a taxi driver before opening pizza parlours in Leeds, and working on the local market. Rzonca formed a new version of the band in 2002, with Dave, Harry and Nev, and Steve Popplewell on second guitar. Dave, Harry and Nev left after several gigs. A new album was written and recorded during this brief time but has never been released. Rzonca and Popplewell continued, recruiting Eden, Chris, and Skruff. A new album, Skum, was released in 2009.

Site: Facebook

Abrasive Wheels — 1982 — When the Punks Go Marching In

Year: 1982
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps
Size: 123,13 MB
01. Vicious Circle
02. 1982
03. Danger, Danger
04. B. B. C.
05. Mayday
06. Voice of Youth
07. Just Another Punk Band
08. Gotta Run
09. Burn ‘Em Down
10. Shout It Out
11. Slaughterhouse
12. First Rule (no Rule)
13. Attack
14. When the Punks Go Marching In
15. The Army Song
16. Juvenile
17. 17 so Slow
18. Vicious Circle (Single Version)
19. Attack (Single Version)
20. Voice of Youth (Single Version)
21. Urban Rebel
22. Criminal Youth

Abrasive Wheels — 1984 — Black Laether Girl

Year: 1984
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps
Size: 94,62 MB
01. Maybe tomorrow
02. Chrisianne
03. Sea of madness
04. Law of the jungle
05. The Prisoner
06. Drummer boy
07. Jailhouse rock
08. Strain of love
09. Searching for the truth
10. Black leather girl
11. Nineteen
12. Devil on my shoulder

Abrasive Wheels — 1995 — The Punk Singles Collection

Year: 1995
Quality: mp3, 192 kbps
Size: 61,03 MB
01. Army Song
02. Juvenile
03. So Slow
04. Vicious Circle
05. Attack
06. Voice of Youth
07. Burn ‘Em Down
08. Urban Rebel
09. Jailhouse Rock
10. Sonic Omen
11. Banner of Hope
12. Law of the Jungle
13. The Prisoner
14. Christianne
15. Black Leather Girl

Abrasive Wheels — 2009 — Skum

Year: 2009
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps
Size: 103,64 MB
01. Fight The Enemy
02. Class Of ’82
03. Born Loser
04. Survivors
05. Nothing To Lose
06. Breadline
07. Soldiers Prayer
08. Out Of Control
09. Jonny Law
10. Heroes
11. Skum
12. Crashed Out And Wasted